old news

•Visiting Research Fellow Dr Tolis Malakos led a reading group on Aristotle's Metaphysics. See here for full details. He is also leading a research project on "Dasein as αληθευειν: An Aristotelian reading of Heidegger’s Being and Time". For further details, please email Tolis at

• See here the first issue of CASEP's newsletter: CASEP Newsletter, issue 1.pdf.

• CASEP co-hosted (with the Centre for the Study of Social and Global Justice) two conferences at the Univerity of Nottingham in July 2012. The second annual conference of the Contemporary Aristotelian Studies specialist group of the UK Political Studies Association (the inaugural conference of which was at London Met in 2011) was on Wednesday 18th July. The sixth annual conference of the International Society for MacIntyrean Enquiry (the inaugural conference of which was at London Met in 2007) was from 19th to 21st July. See here for further details.

• CASEP cohosted (with the Centre for the Study of Religion, Conflict and Cooperation) a conference on Religion, Civil Religion, and the Common Good at London Metropolitan University on 20-21 June 2012. The 28 papers presented included Prof. Ronald Beiner (author of Civil Religion: A Dialogue in the History of Political Philosophy, CUP, 2011) on "Secularism as a Common Good", Dr. Patrick Riordan (author of A Grammar of the Common Good: Speaking of Globalization, Continuum, 2008) on "Talk of the Common Good: Promises and Prospects", Prof. Timothy Chappell on "The Goods and the Persons They are Good For". It is intended that a book will be published including some papers from the conference, and a few more besides,.

• CASEP Senior Research Fellow, Professor Alasdair MacIntyre, was awarded the American Political Science Association's 2011 Benjamin E. Lippincott Award. The Award honours a work of exceptional quality by a living political theorist that has proven of lasting importance, and was made for After Virtue: A Study in Moral Theory. Amongst Alasdair's more recent awards is that of Villanova University's first Civitas Dei Medal, in 2012.

• Congratulations also to Dr Marian Kuna, CASEP Postdoctoral Fellow 2010-12, for being elected Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Letters at the Catholic University in Ruzomberok, Slovakia. Marian assumed office in January 2012 and will remain in post until December 2015.

The inaugural conference of the Contemporary Aristotelian Studies specialist group of the UK Political Studies Association was held at London Met on 3rd June 2011, including papers by Alasdair MacIntyre (London Met), Kirsten Ainley (LSE), Ron Beadle (Newcastle Business School), Keith Breen (Queen's University, Belfast), and many others. Thanks primarily to the organizational acumen of Kim Redgrave, it was a successful and memorable event.

CASEP held symposia on 14th and 16th April 2011. The first included papers by Matthew Knotts, Craig Iffland, Mustafa Ongun, Kim Redgrave, and Kelvin Knight. The second was on Tom Angier’s Technē in Aristotle’s Ethics, with comments from Joseph Dunne.

Professor Alasdair MacIntyre became Senior Research Fellow at CASEP on 1st July 2010. His inaugural public lecture, on Two Kinds of Political Reasoning, may be viewed here. He is undertaking a research project on Common Goods and Political Reasoning, in which he is exploring the possibilities and prospects for a contemporary Aristotelian politics. CASEP convenes colloquia in which members provide him with critical feedback.

Professor Ronald Beiner joined CASEP as Visiting Research Fellow in the academic year 2011/12. Ronnie is Professor of Political Science at the University of Toronto and, until taking up his position at CASEP, Chair of the University of Toronto at Mississauga's Department of Political Science.

• CASEP members gathered in May 2010 at the University of Nottingham for CASEP's first full conference, on Martha Nussbaum, Cosmopolitanism and Global Justice.

• CASEP plans to establish a journal of Contemporary Aristotelian Studies. The journal will be edited by Timothy Chappell, Ruth Groff and Kelvin Knight, with the support of a working Editorial Committee and a large, international and interdisciplinary Editorial Board of world-leading Aristotelian scholars.


  Page last updated : : 08 Jan 2014